HELLODESIGN.HU – design.derű.barátok.

Interview with Dieter Rams

Posted in 11. Interjúk by Hellodesign on 2009. december 21. hétfő

The Design Museum in London has just opened a Dieter Rams retrospective. We caught up with the German designer before the opening.

Justin McGuirk: I’m curious to hear what’s on your mind as you see all your work laid out in this retrospective. One thing I’m interested in is nostalgia, because I think there’s a sense of nostalgia for the time these products date from, the 50s, 60s and 70s. In those days design was very much about progress and improving life and these days we are less comfortable with design, for all kind of reasons – because of the environment, because of our perception of consumerism. How do you see design today?

Dieter Rams: You know I am trained as an architect, and I was also trained in landscape design and so on. But then I met the brothers Braun and as I saw that what they had in mind was to change their whole production – along the lines of the famous school in Ulm, the Bauhaus successor. So I changed my mind and became more concentrated on design…

Via & more: Iconeye

Tagged with: ,

Vélemény, hozzászólás?

